Brave new worlds

Today I am entering into a brave new world. I am stepping out of my literary comfort zone (my home office that I affectionately call my writing lair, stocked with snacks and books and all kinds of random stuff) and into the scary, public realm of the internet.

Blogging is something I have resisted for a long time. I had a livejournal account for a while, but never got the hang of regular blogging. Now that I am growing in confidence as a writer, and seriously committing to my writing career, I know that I can and must build my own web presence through regular blogging.

I hope to share a bit of myself here. If you choose to stop back, you will probably find posts about the writing process, about roller derby (my other hobby/obsession), about my family and friends, my quirky pet guinea pigs, and whatever else strikes my fancy. I will not post daily, but I hope that when I do post, it is worth reading.

Some posts will be locked to the public. These will be related to the writing course I am taking, Holly Lisle’s “How to Think Sideways”. If you are a student of HTTS, you will find the password to those posts on the forums. I encourage everyone interested in writing to take Holly’s courses. She is currently making a shift in priorities and returning to full-time fiction writing, so soon her courses will only be available in e-book format. Let me assure you that they are ALL worth purchasing.

Every November, expect frequent posts, as I participate in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and use the blog as a way of preparing for and surviving this crazy adventure.  Don’t know what NaNo is all about? It’s a 30-day, 50,000 word writing challenge. Go to http://www.nanowrimo.org to learn more. Everyone should try NaNo at least once! It is seriously life-changing!

That’s all for now!

Amy

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

