Celebrations, distractions, and revisions

NaNo Winner

It's good to be in the Winner's Circle!

I feel as though I am waking from a very long nap.
 
The time since NaNoWriMo has flown by for me. November was a hectic month, full of long work days at my job, write-ins, travel, and time with my family. I had a sluggish start to my word count, and made only slow progress for most of the month. However, I pushed myself through the last few days, and won right before midnight. I wrote over 10,000 words on the final day, something I do not recommend to any sane person with a day job.
 
It should come as no surprise, then, that the month of December is a hazy blur in my mind. My job demanded extra commitment from me during a huge conversion, and the usual holiday stuff distracted me from any thoughts of writing. Had I been more disciplined, I probably would have jumped right back into blogging and writing after NaNo was done. Sadly, I am very distracted by shiny things, cute sloth videos, and the excitement of a pending trip to Las Vegas. It has not been good for tangible novel progress.
 
Being away from my manuscript and taking time away from writing for a little while has helped my subconscious work, unbothered by my conscious mind. When I returned to it last weekend for a read-through and to make some initial notes in anticipation of revision, I found that I am more than ready to tackle the job of sculpting this raw glob of words and ideas into something truly beautiful.
 
Trust me, my first draft was as bad as anyone else’s. If anything, it was worse than many, because I got quite sidetracked by some very fun plot elements that had no place being in my urban fantasy novel. However, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I feared. I remembered why I fell in love with this idea in the first place. For the first time, I feel I have a first draft that I am willing to revise and polish until it is ready for submission.
 
My journey with this novel began months ago. I put nearly seven months of preparation into it before NaNoWriMo began. I have no idea how many hours I have spent crafting this book. Every second has been worth it. Now that I have taken a vacation from this story, I can return with renewed energy and follow my passion.
 
Have a NaNoWriMo tale to tell? Any tips for revision? Share them with me in the comments.
 
See you again soon!
Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

