February Round-up and March Goals

It’s the end of February, and all I can think is, “Am I the only one who feels like I just got run over by a snowplow?” Between the crappy snowstorm that defeated my SUV and the medical issues my husband has been dealing with the past couple of weeks, I’m definitely ready to close the book on this past month.

Then I realize that some of my exhaustion is the good kind. I’m tired in part because I’ve been pouring my heart and soul into novel revision, more than I ever did into the first draft. I’m probably also a bit tired from having a busier evening schedule than I had been used to. Two nights a week for my writing group seemed really hard at first, because I do love my time with my husband just lounging and snuggling puppies. But I had set the goal, so I had to do it. It was worth it.

So that brings me to my wrap-up. How did I do? I fell a bit short of my expectations for myself about checking in with other #WriteMotivation folks on their blogs or on Twitter. I definitely need to schedule time for those check-ins, and give myself a list to go through each day or week. I made it to some, and commented on most that I visited, but I know there are probably plenty of participants whose blogs I never saw. I don’t want anyone to fall through the cracks, so I will pledge to do better next month. I also missed doing weekly posts, since I skipped updating during the second week of February. I did Twitter updates then, but I do need to improve at writing regular posts. For a first month, I would like to think I did all right at those universal goals, and hope to improve greatly next month.

Here were my personal WriteMotivation goals for February, in case you missed them:

  1. 30 hours of revision work– YES!! Just finished about 11pm, but I made it!
  2. 5 blog posts–This is post #5 for me for the month, so YES!!
  3. Attend at least 4 write-ins with my awesome writing group–YES!! Does it matter that I didn’t really get anything done at one session?
COOKIES!!!

COOKIES!!!

So it is with delight that I say YES!!! I finished my #WriteMotivation goals!!! This was my first month, and I didn’t know what to expect. I was blown away by the outpouring of support I received all month long, and I’ve loved getting to know you all virtually. And yes, I’m excited that I earned my guilt-free cookies. I’m easily entertained. 🙂

What will March bring? Hopefully continued success toward meeting my writing goals. If not, I know my #WriteMotivation comrades will have my back. Here are my goals for March…

  1. 50 hours of editing–I learned NaNoEdMo is taking a hiatus this year, but I’m still aiming for it.
  2. 6 blog posts
  3. Attend at least one write-in per week with my writing group.
  4. Read at least 1 trade book and 2 novels.

Tomorrow, the hubs and I will be attending AMC’s Best Picture Showcase, a 24-hour marathon of all the Best Picture nominees. I will not really be able to start my March goals until Sunday. I promise I will post something as soon as I come out of the post-movies stupor. Thanks to all my #WriteMotivation buds for a great month. You all welcomed me so warmly that I hope I can return the favor. Write on!!

8 Comments

Friday, February 28, 2014 · 11:45 PM

8 responses to “February Round-up and March Goals

  1. Awesome job! You earned those cookies. =D Good luck with March.

  2. Yay!! And on first read, I saw “smuggling puppies,” which made me do a double-take… 🙂

  3. Woohoo! And how much fun was it to put that plate of cookies on your blog?! Good job, Amy! And good luck with those March goals. You can do it!

  4. heathercashman

    What an amazing job! You must feel so good about it all. I see you’re upping your game. Good luck with March. I know you can do it!

  5. February was my first #writemotivation month too. It was pretty cool, all the twitter cookies. ;D
    Good luck with your March goals!!!

  6. Good luck on March’s goals! *waves pom poms and throws cookies*

  7. February was an awesome month for you. I really hope March has been kinder to you than to a few of us. I know I’m planning on April being my comeback month.

    • Thanks. It’s been rough. Injured my hand and wrist so writing has been nearly impossible. That plus migraines and a family crisis meant that the only goal I’ve met was my reading goal. Oops. Definitely looking forward to a mulligan in April.

Leave a Reply

