F is for Fowl (Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer)

A to Z Blogging Challenge 2015--FWhen I was making my list of books to help me complete my goal of 100 books read this year, I wanted some short, fun reads. The first series of books that I thought of was the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer. I had read the first two books previously, but that was years ago. So I started from the beginning, and I’ve been working through the series. As of this post, I’ve read the first 5 books plus the companion piece, The Artemis Fowl Files. It’s been a fun ride.

Artemis is a child genius with a penchant for criminal behavior, having come from a long line of criminal masterminds. When he discovers the existence of the underground Faerie world and kidnaps LEPrecon (Lower Elements Police Reconnaisance) Captain Holly Short, we get to see an entertaining chess game of sorts between the two worlds.

These books are just great fun. Artemis reminds me of a young Sherlock Holmes (perhaps more like Mycroft, actually), more of an anti-hero than a villain, too smart for his own good sometimes, always one step ahead of his enemies, but socially inept. Holly Short is more than his match, the first female Captain in the LEPrecon, and I love her sarcastic sense of humor. Colfer writes a tongue-in-cheek story, deliberately cheesy at times. The rest of the characters are well developed, from Foaly, the paranoid tech-support centaur, to Mulch Diggums, a kleptomaniac dwarf. The second book, The Arctic Incident, improves on the first in character development and the stakes involved. Book three, The Eternity Code, is my favorite of the series, with Artemis working together with the LEP to take down a rival human with connections to the mafia who has stolen faerie technology from Artemis.

While I haven’t read all the books, I can heartily recommend at least the first few to anyone wanting a series that can bridge the gap between Mid-Grade and Young Adult books. I’ll be revisiting the series later in the month, so stay tuned!

If you have recommendations for some quick reads for me to meet my challenge, feel free to share them in the comments! Or let me know your favorite literary villain or anti-hero. 🙂

13 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

13 responses to “F is for Fowl (Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer)

  1. I’ve only read the first book in the series and in Italian translation, and still I loved it. Took me a while to get into the story, but then I truly loved it.

    Oh, no, wait, I also read the short story for the Book Day of some years ago, that one was in English. Absolutely fantastic!

    One day, I’m going to buy the entire series 🙂

    • The later books in the series seem to read a bit slower, but I’m still working my way through them. Hoping to finish the series by next month, depending on whether I get through all my reads for the A-to-Z. 🙂

  2. My son loved this series, I haven’t read it, though! Can recommend anything by Elen Caldecott, adventures with a heart, anything by Louis Sacher, (easily readable) Skellig by David Almond, and anything by Jerry Spinelli. (Did an MA in writing for young people, I did!) ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

  3. I’ve wanted to read these! Now I’m determined. Sounds like a mix between Terry Pratchett and Jasper Fforde.

  4. sarahthemythopoet

    I’ve read the first 5 Artemis Fowl books and greatly enjoyed them. Now you’ve reminded me I should look for the rest of the series. Thanks!

    • I’ve heard some of the later ones go downhill a bit. I really enjoyed The Lost Colony, which is #5. I’ll be starting on #6 as soon as I’m done with the books I need to finish in order to complete my A to Z posts. 🙂

  5. I LOVE the Artemis Fowl series! Great choice!

    Good luck with the 2015 A to Z Challenge!
    A to Z Co-Host S. L. Hennessy
    http://pensuasion.blogspot.com

  6. stephen tremp

    Hello, I’m stopping in from A to Z and thanks for your continued participation!

    Stephen Tremp
    an A-Z Cohost
    @StephenTremp on Twitter

Leave a Reply

